Vine – the Untapped Henna Market

So I have been a “viner” for about four weeks now and I can honestly say that I haven’t enjoyed myself more on social media.  Considering I have Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, YouTube, Pinterest and a blog, I feel like I’ve been around enough social media to know when I’ve come across something worth trying.  Vine is just such a thing.

The main reason why I am writing this post is because I want every henna artist to join Vine and help add to the art available for viewing on it.  Let me explain why.  When I first joined Vine, I went in search of great henna videos, and I found very few.  In fact, so few henna videos are uploaded that a week later, my first video was still around the fourth upload if you searched the tag #henna.  This led me to believe that Vine has an untapped market for mehndi lovers.

However, although I want henna artists to join Vine, there does seem to be a catch on the types of videos which get lots of views and which do not.  My videos which are an actual mini-tutorial of a full design, rather than just a six second video of me doing some henna, get more views (“loops”) quicker.  This makes me believe that a full tutorial is far more interesting for Vine users, than just a video showcasing finished henna works or doing small sections of a design.

The key on Vine is how many times a person sticks around to view your video, and that will only happen if the video is interesting enough to be viewed more than once.  Unless you’ve used a mesmerizing time-lapse effect, it’s unlikely that a person will be so hooked on a 6 second teaser of us doing henna that they’ll stick around for more than one view.  Therefore, from what I have seen, the full mini-tutorials do better on Vine.

Just imagine though, how wonderful would it be if video after video was another henna tutorial which you could watch again if you liked, but if you didn’t then you haven’t wasted much time before moving on … six seconds to be precise.  Well that doesn’t exist right now.  In fact, from what I have seen, the vast majority of videos are just clips of people doing a small section of henna.  I would love to see the number of quality henna tutorial videos going up (and I’m really hoping my videos are of quality).

I’m not going to go into detail as to why you should all try it out, but I will say that Vine is a unique app that has a completely different viewing experience which makes it worthwhile.  Plus, there are certain benefits to it for new henna artists in that, if you tag your video, people searching that tag will find it.  On YouTube, even if people search your exact title, the popular YouTubers get priority.  I for one, absolutely love that Vine offers a far better opportunity for new video creators to bloom.  We are on equal footing with those YouTubers who began making videos years ago.

I urge you to try it and if you do, please let me know what you think in the comments below.  Thank you for reading !

Leave a Reply

